Cherry Creek District will elect three school board members in November


School Board representatives for Cherry Creek Schools’ (CCSD) Director Districts A, B and C will be chosen on November 7. Members of the CCSD school board run at large, so all candidates will appear on ballots across the district.

Incumbent Anne Egan is being challenged in her bid for re-election to a second four-year term representing Director District A, by Steve McKenna, a Navy veteran and retired SEC lawyer. 

Incumbent Angela Garland is being challenged in her bid for re-election to a second four-year term representing Director District C, by Scott Graves, a financial planner and former music teacher.

Ruthie Knowles is running unopposed for Director District B, an open seat currently held by Janice McDonald, who is term-limited.

Anne Egan “passed a successful bond and budget campaign in 2020 with more than 70% voter approval, providing much-needed resources for significant safety and security upgrades in every CCDS building.” She prioritizes “continuing diverse and innovative educational pathways for all students in our buildings, and at the Cherry Creek Innovative Campus.”

Steve McKenna is running “to elevate the math and reading proficiencies, prioritize school safety, and inspire excellence.” He believes that “partnerships, transparency, and strong academic focus are the keys to success.”

Scott Graves “knows the challenges that teachers face in preparing the next generation for success and leadership as adults and recognizes the importance and value of the parent/teacher partnership.”

Angela Garland is “committed to creating excellence for all students, ensuring our board listens to families and puts students first.” Her priorities are, “High quality, professional educators, inspiring every student to think and learn, valuing each and every student, responding to families, and continuously evolving and improving.”

Knowles holds a master’s degree in social work and has been a member of the Steering Committee of the Special Education Advisory Committee and chair of the School Accountability Committee at Overland High School, which she attended in her youth. Her priorities are thriving neighborhood schools, expanding innovation, recruiting and retaining quality educators, accountability, and pathway of purpose.

CCSD will sponsor six candidate forums at its high schools. They will be held on the dates and locations below, from 6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., and recorded. The recordings will be posted on the CCSD website.

  • Sept. 12 – Smoky Hill High School, 16100 E. Smoky Hill Road, Aurora
  • Sept. 19 – Cherokee Trail High School, 25901 E. Arapahoe Road, Aurora
  • Sept. 21 – Grandview High School, 20500 E. Arapahoe Road, Aurora
  • Sept. 27 – Cherry Creek High School, 9300 E. Union Ave, Greenwd Vlg   
  • Oct. 3 – Eaglecrest High School, 5100 S. Picadilly Street, Centennial
  • Oct. 10 – Overland High School, 12400 E. Jewell Avenue, Aurora