Kevin Vick elected President of the Colorado Education Association 

Kevin Vick was elected President of the Colorado Education Association (CEA) at the 98th annual Delegate Assembly. Delegate Assembly is CEA’s top policy-making body, composed of several hundred members across the state who are elected by their fellow members.

“I’ve served alongside Kevin Vick over the past six years, and his unwavering commitment to bettering the educational landscape in Colorado is unparalleled,” said Amie Baca-Oehlert, high school counselor and President of CEA. “His proven track record of leadership, coupled with his profound understanding of the nuances of our education system’s strengths and challenges, uniquely positions him to steer CEA towards even greater heights of success and impact.” 

Vick is a 23-year veteran high school social studies teacher and has served as CEA’s Vice President over the last six years. He will begin a three-year term in July of this year. 

“I’m honored to be CEA’s president-elect and look forward to building upon the progress that we’ve made as an organization over the past six years,” said Kevin Vick, president-elect of CEA. “Together, we have fought for better wages, fairer workplace conditions and a fully funded education system in Colorado. As president-elect, I am looking forward to harnessing the collective energy and passion of our nearly 40,000 dedicated members to propel our organization toward even greater heights of excellence and impact. I am confident that together, we will continue to champion the rights of educators, advocate for the needs of our students, and foster a culture of collective unity and strength.” 

Liz Waddick was also elected to serve as CEA’s Vice President for a three-year term beginning in July. Waddick is a Spanish teacher at Summit High School and is a member of the Summit County Education Association. Additionally, Ang Anderson was re-elected to serve as NEA Director for a three-year term, and Kathy Gustad was re-elected as the Equity Council At-Large member on the CEA Board of Directors.