18th Judicial District Court judge finalists selected

Governor to appoint two new district court judges

The Eighteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission has nominated six candidates for a district court judgeship created by the retirements of the Hon. Jeffrey Holmes and Hon. Peter Michaelson, effective July 1, and Aug. 1, 2023, respectively. Nominees LaQunya Baker of Aurora; Robert Caldwell, Chantel Contiguglia and Jacob Edson, all of Centennial; Donna Stewart of Castle Rock; and Christine Washburn of Denver, were selected by the commission on May 19, 2023, during a meeting at the Arapahoe County Justice Center.

Under the Colorado Constitution, the governor has 15 days from May 22, 2023, within which to appoint two of the nominees as district court judges for the Eighteenth Judicial District (Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert and Lincoln counties).

Comments regarding any of the nominees may be sent via e-mail to the governor at gov_judicialappointments@state.co.us