12 of Colorado’s pioneering authors will be inducted into the Author’s Hall of Fame in September

The Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame Induction Gala on September 11th at the Double Tree Hilton Denver Tech Center will celebrate 12 more prolific authors with ties to the sunshine state. 

This years’ inductees include autism rights and animal rights activist, Temple Grandin, archaeologist, science fiction writer Kathleen O’Neal Gear, Christian pilgrim Philip Yancey, visionary writer of the American West Patty Limerick and eight others. 

Two legacy authors, John Denver, one of the world’s best loved performers, author of his autobiography, and poet laureate of Colorado in 1974. His song, “Rocky Mountain High,” became Colorado’s State song in 2007. The other Legacy recipient is Abelardo Lalo Delgado, considered El Abuelito (grandfather) of Chicano literature. His poetry, frequently anthologized, is part of the lexicon of Chicano Studies programs on college campuses and the basis for his posthumous appointment as Poet Laureate of Denver.

The living inductees, honored at the Induction Gala include bestselling and prolific authors:

• Jeanne Abrams

• Temple Grandin

• Peter Heller

• Mary Kelly

• Patricia Limerick

• Tom Noel

• Linda Wommack

• Philip Yancey

The Author’s Hall of Fame aims to recognize and celebrate outstanding authors with ties to the beautiful state of Colorado. Past inductees included former Secretary of State, Madeline Albright, former Miss America’s and advocate Marilyn Van Derbur, horror icon Stephen King, Newbury Medal winner Avi, cookbook pioneer Carol Fenster, and Sci-fi writer Kevin J Anderson.

The Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame is the first in the nation to recognize and celebrate the breadth of work that authors brought forth.

The Hall inducts new authors bi-annually, and the public is invited to nominate their favorite authors with ties to Colorado. Nominations will open again in 2025. 

About Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame®

Authors’ Hall of Fame® strives to educate the people of Colorado and the country about the stories of the authors who shaped their works using their personal presence and the environment of our State with courage, leadership, intelligence, compassion, and creativity. Inductees are authors who’ve made a major impact on others with their words. The Authors’ Hall of Fame® recognition endeavors to ensure their legacies never die.

The 2023 Induction of the Hall of Fame® will be held September 11th at the DoubleTree Hilton Denver Tech Center. Additional information about the upcoming Induction event, inductees, donations, events, and board members is available at www.Colorado

The public is invited to visit the website, read the criteria for nominations, and encouraged to nominate authors who they believe would be ideal to include in the 2025 celebration.